football-player football-score football-helmet football-ball Accuracy Arm-Strength Balance Ball-Security Ball-Skills Big-Play-Ability Block-Deconstruction Competitive-Toughness Core-Functional-Strength Decision-Making Discipline Durability Effort-Motor Elusivness Explosiveness Football-IQ Footwork Functional-Athleticism Hand-Counters Hand-Power Hand-Technique Hands Lateral-Mobility Leadership Length Mechanics Mobility Pass-Coverage-Ability Pass-Protection Pass-Sets Passing-Down-Skills Pocket-Manipulation Poise Power-at-POA Progressions RAC-Ability Range Release-Package Release Route-Running Run-Defending Separation Special-Teams-Ability-1 Versatility Vision Zone-Coverage-Skills Anchor-Ability Contact-Balance Man-Coverage-Skills Tackling Lifted Logic Web Design in Kansas City clock location phone email play chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up facebook tiktok checkbox checkbox-checked radio radio-selected instagram google plus pinterest twitter youtube send linkedin search arrow-circle bell left-arrow right-arrow tdn-mark filled-play-circle yellow-arrow-circle dark-arrow-circle star cloudy snowy rainy sunny plus minus triangle-down link close drag minus-circle plus-circle pencil premium trash lock simple-trash simple-pencil eye cart
Hall of Fame

These 3 Players Should Be First-Ballot Pro Football Hall of Famers In 2023

  • Justin Melo
  • August 8, 2022
  • Share

The 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame class received its enshrinement in Canton, Ohio this past weekend. The class was filled with deserved entrants including legendary coach Dick Vermeil, Tony Boselli, and Richard Seymour, to name a few. With the class now officially inducted, attention swiftly turns to the 2023 eligibles, particularly the first-year candidates that will appear on the ballot.

The 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame class carries the potential to present more star power than the current one. Several high-level players could receive their enshrinement in the not-so-distant future. We’ve identified three candidates that should be granted immediate entry into the 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.


One of the greatest offensive tackles of all time, Joe Thomas deserves immediate entry into professional football’s most exclusive club. Thomas played his entire career for the Cleveland Browns (2007-17) and has already been inducted into the franchise’s Ring of Honor. Thomas is the only offensive lineman in NFL history to be voted to 10 consecutive Pro Bowls. 

Thomas unfortunately played some for terrible Browns teams and was never granted an opportunity to participate in the postseason. It shouldn’t impact Thomas’ chances of getting into the Hall of Fame, though. A model of consistency, Thomas also earned seven first-team All-Pro selections and two second-team All-Pro selections during his 11-year playing career. He also miraculously played 10,363 consecutive snaps before missing a single play.

Thomas is a no-brainer first-ballot Hall of Famer.


Darrelle Revis made playing cornerback on an island cool. Opposing NFL wide receivers legitimately feared “Revis Island.” Revis was one of the greatest man-to-man cornerbacks in modern NFL history and was known for his ability to eliminate one side of the field. 

Revis was named to seven Pro Bowls throughout his career and was a four-time first-team All-Pro. The former Pitt Panther also won Super Bowl XLIX as a member of the New England Patriots. 

Revis’ Super Bowl triumph adds to his legacy and strengthens his chances of being a first-ballot inductee. Revis was also recently named to the NFL’s 2010s All-Decade Team.


One of the greatest undrafted free agents in the history of football, you can’t think of the Pittsburgh Steelers without mentioning James Harrison. It speaks volumes regarding the legacy he left at one of the league’s most storied franchises. A small-schooler out of Kent State, Harrison became the only undrafted player to be named NFL Defensive Player of the Year (2008).

Harrison remains widely regarded as one of the most physical linebackers of all time. Opposing players winced at the thought of a collision with Harrison. Harrison always gave 100% effort throughout an illustrious 15-year playing career. A five-time Pro Bowl selection, Harrison won two Super Bowls with the Steelers (XL and XLIII), which adds to the likelihood of him being a first-ballot inductee. Harrison is also the Steelers’ all-time sack leader, with 80.5 quarterback takedowns.

Today’s linebackers grew up admiring Harrison and modeling their game after his. The next step is for Harrison to be rewarded by gaining entrance into Canton.

Filed In

Written By

Justin Melo